LTC Women's Only Class - 04.28.19, Buck & Doe's Mercantile, Sunday, 28. April 2019

Our LTC class includes all State mandated classroom instruction, in addition you must pass the 25 question exam and demonstrate  handgun proficiency with our Licensed Instructor. Total time (all classroom, exam, handgun proficiency,  and breaks is approximately 5 to 6 hours). You will receive your Certificate of Training LTC 100 form upon successful completion. 
All of our License To Carry (LTC) instructors are Texas Department of Public Safety certified License To Carry Instructors and National Rifle Association (NRA) Firearms Instructors.  Our instructors are committed to 1) your safety; 2) delivering the best LTC instruction available in Texas and 3) ensuring you are as prepared as possible for the responsibility of carrying a licensed handgun.
Eligibility Requirements

Must be a legal resident of Texas, or apply for a non-resident license
Must be at least 21, unless active duty or honorably discharged from the military, then at least 18
Must not ever have been convicted of a FELONY
Must not be currently charged with a Class A or Class B MISDEMEANOR or FELONY
Must not be chemically dependent, including alcohol
Must be capable of exercising sound judgment
Must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or a disorderly conduct, in the past 5 years
Must be fully qualified under federal and state laws to purchase a handgun
Must not be delinquent in any payments to the state of Texas, including child support and property taxes
Must not be restricted by a protective or restraining order involving a person
Must not have been convicted of a felony grade juvenile delinquent conduct in the previous 10 years

Subjects Covered

Laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force
Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
Non-violent dispute resolution
Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child

Equipment Needed
Reliable functional handgun, (semi-auto or revolver) .22 LR or larger caliber. This is your responsibility to make sure your handgun works properly as the State proficiency test does not allow make up/alibi shots.  RENTAL FIREARMS are available at Buck & Doe's.  Eye & Ear Protection and Ammunition.
Bring your UNLOADED handgun and UNLOADED magazine in a bag or case.  The handgun and magazine must remain in the case or bag at all times until you are taken to the gun range to qualify.

Minimum 50 round box of ammunition for your handgun caliber
Minimum 1 magazine, two is best.
Eye and ear protection
Closed top shoes, no sandals, no flip flops
Hat/cap to protect from sun and hat brass.
Medium size towel or rag for table and resting your handgun on
Bring a lunch, and/or snacks, your own drinks for the day. (No official lunch break to make a shorter day)
Note pad and blue/black pen
Anything else you believe you may need

There is no official lunch break during the LTC course however students can bring lunch, snacks, drinks etc to have during the classroom lectures (working lunch).
On the range, you will shoot the following:
From a distance of 3 Yards:
        1 shot in 2 seconds (5 times)
        2 shots in 3 seconds (5 times)
        5 shots in 10 seconds (1 time)
From a distance of 7 Yards:
        5 shots in 10 seconds (1 time)
        2 shots in 4 seconds (1 time)
        3 shots in 6 seconds (1 time)
        1 shot in 3 seconds (5 times)
        5 shots in 15 seconds (1 time)
From a distance of 15 Yards:
        2 shots in 6 seconds (1 time)
        3 shots in 9 seconds (1 time)
        5 shots in 15 seconds (1 time)
This course is not a “how-to-shoot” class. It is expected that the student has already achieved a minimum safe level of proficiency with their handgun, including loading, unloading, slide or cylinder manipulation, proper use of safety devices and operational controls. During the proficiency test, students will be expected to be safe while handling their firearms which is part of the test. Students who cannot meet these standards will fail the proficiency test and will need to retest at later date.  Buck & Doe's offers preparation classes and private lessons in order to assist you with all the LTC requirements and insure that you are ready to take the LTC class.
What to do before class or after completion

Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety (click link) and fill out online application for a NEW HANDGUN LICENSE
Pay the application fee (This fee is paid the Texas Department of Public Safety)
Print out the Receipt/Check List (This should have a large bar code across the top.)
Register for fingerprinting, you will get an email from IdentoGO with 24 hours.
Questions? Go to TX DPS FAQs (click link).


For further questions please email or call:
Kari Grayson
kgrayson@buckdoes.com
210-478-0386








Sunday, 28. April 2019, Buck & Doe's Mercantile, LTC Women's Only Class - 04.28.19

Find more interesting events
Get event recommendations based on your Facebook taste. Get it now!Show me the suitable events for meNot now