New Dates! STENCILMANIA. Understanding Type Design as a tool for graphic designers, online, Saturday, 26. September 2020

Create the main characters of an alphabet constructed with a limited amount of elements!



Stencil Type Design has been proven as a great way to explain and practice the principles underlying the design of typefaces.

In this workshop, Laura will offer participants the possibility of creating the main characters of an alphabet constructed with a limited amount of elements. We will design typographic characters to compose a word, a message or a logo, that will serve later, to cut out stencils in a resistant material to be painted or printed.

It can be solved manually or digitally.



??? ????? ???? ??? ??? ????? ??:

10:00am San Francisco/LA/Seattle (PDT)

12:00pm Chicago/Toronto (CST)

1:00pm New York (EST)

6:00pm London (BST)

7:00pm Paris/Madrid/Europe (CEST)

9:00pm Dubai (GST)

2:00am Seoul/Manila

2:00am Tokyo

5:00am Auckland



???????? ????????

-To understand and practice the principles underlying the design of typefaces.

-Set the basis for creating a full alphabet from a few existing characters.

-Reflect on the role of typography in the field of identity and experience the design of custom types. All together can be understood as ‘type design as a tool for designers’.

All participants will have to do preliminary research about stencil sentences or words found in the streets or in articles or old catalogs. They will serve as the starting point for the project. From that material, we will extract the alphabets to work on, and define the parts, adapting the work process to each style.



???????? ?????????

-Drawing materials: pencil, eraser and ruler

-Supports: white paper, graph paper, onion paper.

-Optional: Laptop, scanner, photocopy machine, lightbox.

At the first two sessions we will all be sketching by hand, the next two can be manual or digital drawing. In case the participant wants to continue digital, he or she will have to be skilled and autonomous in vector drawing design.





????? ????? ????????

Laura Meseguer is a freelance graphic and type designer born in Barcelona. Her studio works for international and domestic clients but also in self-initiated projects, through her own type foundry, Type-Ø-Tones, she publishes and promotes her type design. Since she took the Type&Media masters course in The Hague, she has been teaching and giving talks and workshops around.



As a typographer and type designer, she is specialized in all sorts of projects involving custom lettering and type design, for branding and publishing design. For her personal practice, she gets the inspiration from what is around and focuses on projects that mix that with her own vision of type and lettering, exploring the expressivity of letterforms.



She is the author of TypoMag. Typography in Magazines, published by IndexBook and co-author of the book “Cómo crear tipografías. Del boceto a la pantalla”, published by Tipo e in Spanish and translated into Polish, Portuguese, English, and Chinese.



Since 2017 she is a member of the ATypI board.



#stencilmania #letterformarchive #graphicdesign #typedesign

Saturday, 26. September 2020, online, New Dates! STENCILMANIA. Understanding Type Design as a tool for graphic designers

Find more interesting events
Get event recommendations based on your Facebook taste. Get it now!Show me the suitable events for meNot now