Utilizing Erikson's Eight Stages of Development to Treat PTSD and Substance Abuse, Pyramid Family Behavioral Healthcare, Friday, 28. February 2020

Title: Utilizing Erikson's Eight Stages of Development to Treat PTSD and Substance Abuse
 Course Description: 
Erikson's Eight Stages of Human Development define appropriate behavioral outcomes that are specific to each stage.  When trauma disrupts one or more of the stages it can undermine normal development.  In essence, the individual is at risk to 'get stuck' at the stage that was disrupted by trauma. Erikson maintains that these unresolved conflicts can be resolved if the client first understands how development is impacted and secondly has an opportunity to resolve them in therapy.  Without addressing the developmental stage that is impacted the individual is unable to find developmental mastery and move on with their life.
Developmental Insight Therapy, the model that will be presented, utilizes Erikson's model to formulate a strategic intervention to educate clients about normal/abnormal development.  Furthermore it teaches clients Insight Meditation as a tool to gain insight into their dysfunction as well as a means to manage their thoughts, feelings and behavior.
Learning Objectives:

Erikson's Eight Stages of Development, the value associated with each stage as well as the favorable and unfavorable outcomes.
The criteria of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Complex PTSD and how development is impacted.
A brief Mindfulness meditation that can be used with clients.
How to develop a treatment plan to address stage-specific trauma as well as skills to manage symptoms.  

 Bio:  Luke Lukens LCSW
Luke completed his MSSW in 1980 with a specialty in Family Systems and has practiced on all levels of behavioral treatment: inpatient, residential as well as outpatient. He has maintained his outpatient practice for twelve years in Lawrenceville and prior to this he was clinical director at SummitRidge Psychiatric Hospital for fifteen years. He has been a student of Erikson’s Eight Stages throughout his career and has integrated his mindfulness meditation practice into his approach and teaches many of his clients to meditate. Combining mindfulness and Erikson’s model creates a dynamic approach to treatment, especially to address PTSD. The topic of his unpublished book, What Happened to Normal?, focuses on what normal development is and how utilizing Erikson’s model can resolve developmental conflicts with therapy.
Continuing Education Credit: 
 Application is pending by LPCA-GA for 3 continuing education hours
 Application is pending  by GSCSW for 3 continuing education hours
Refund Policy:
Requests must be in writing. Refunds will be given on requests postmarked or faxed no later than 7 business days prior to the seminar. No refunds will be issued for "late arrivals" and "no shows". Address: October Road, Inc, Erin Evans, Administrative Assistant/Seminar Coordinator, 119 Tunnel Road Suite B, Asheville, NC. 28805-1800. Fax: (828) 350-1300. Requests may also be emailed to eevans@pyramidhc.com.

Friday, 28. February 2020, Pyramid Family Behavioral Healthcare, Utilizing Erikson's Eight Stages of Development to Treat PTSD and Substance Abuse

Find more interesting events
Get event recommendations based on your Facebook taste. Get it now!Show me the suitable events for meNot now